People are strange, when you’re a stranger

In Bago we stayed at the Kanbawza Hinthar Hotel. More about that (and the wonders of Bago) a bit later. On our last night we were told that because there weren’t many guests that we could select our breakfast as a full buffet would not be available. From the list offered I chose an omelette which was part of the American breakfast set. Our waiter was a little disconcerted that I only wanted part of the set and checked ‘JUST the omlette? No toast?’ When I said yes, he muttered ‘strange’ – which I thought was hilarious. From a country that eats noodle soup for breakfast (Mohinga, which is a great dish), likely he would think my usual breakfast of yoghurt and fruit downright weird. The full American set was omelette, toast, jam, butter, sautéed potatoes, chicken sausage and sliced tomato. The following morning I received (as expected) the full set – which made for a good photo. I have to say though that the omelette had my requested ingredients. And was very tasty.

kanbawzar-hintha-hotel-american-set-breakfast
The full American set – not strange at all
bago-23-shwe-tha-lyaung
Seen earlier while sightseeing – the gorgeous feet of the Shwe Tha Lyaung Buddha in Bago

 

 

